Bumpdate: 39 Weeks

imageedit_8_2339285027

Size of Baby: Mini watermelon
Total Weight Gain: 31 pounds
Maternity Clothes?: Obviously.
Stretch Marks? Still none.
Sleep: Sleep varies. Sometimes, I sleep the entire night through and other nights I’m up several times. I’ve been letting myself indulge guilt-free in naps these days too!

Best Moment of the Last Week: Celebrating Charlotte’s third birthday (and learning that she won’t be sharing even her own birthday with her little sister)!
Miss Anything?: Having energy and moving around easily like I used to. I feel like an old woman.

Movement: It’s clear that Amelia’s quarters are a bit cramped. She’s still moving often, but the movements aren’t as big. I also feel a lot of downward movement as she works to make her way into the world.
Food Cravings: No new cravings.
Any Food Aversions: No new aversions either.

Gender: Girl
Labor Signs: Just call me the Queen of False Labor. I have contractions all throughout the day (I’m having one right now!), but they’re just uncomfortable at this point. Sometimes, I’ll have a period in which they are five to eight minutes apart, but they never get painful. With Charlotte, I labored at home until I was five centimeters so I’m pretty familiar with what real labor pain feels like.

I ended up getting checked at my 39-week appointment given the holiday week that marks my 40th. I’m only 1 centimeter dilated, and I swear Amelia crawled back up higher away from the doctor as she was checking. So that’s a great sign!
Symptoms:  Pelvic pressure, lower and some mid-back pain, fatigue and occasional sciatic nerve pain.

Belly Button?: Still in.
Wedding Rings?: All rings are off.
Happy or Moody?: I would be lying if I said I wasn’t getting a little impatient. We’ve always told Amelia she should wait until December to get here, but learning that I’ve made virtually no progress toward real labor despite all of the false labor is annoying. But comparatively speaking, I am doing MUCH better mentally than I was last pregnancy. I feel way more positive and ready to wait until 41 weeks to deliver.
Looking Forward To: Meeting Amelia, family visiting for Thanksgiving and the holiday season!

DSC_0171
Charlotte is obsessed with “her baby bump” lately.

Image-5

One thought on “Bumpdate: 39 Weeks

  1. Looking good mama! Enjoy your holiday with the family this week. Glad you’re in a better place with this pregnancy. I’m pregnant with my first now, and I can definitely see myself getting impatient near the end…hell, I’m only 27 weeks and I’m a bit impatient now!

Leave a Reply

