The Big Reveal, Part I

It has been 14 long weeks of keeping our secret, and now it’s finally time to share the news with our family and friends.

On the day we found out we were pregnant, I did some quick math and realized that Mother’s Day weekend would mark the end of my first trimester, and would therefore be the perfect time to spring the good news.

We were in Evansville on Mother’s Day weekend, and after church, went out to eat with my family at the Cork n’ Cleaver. My mom was in on the secret [I never actually told her I was pregnant — she figured it out while we were in Ireland] so we opened Mother’s Day cards as soon as we placed our order for food.

The last card that was handed out was from myself and Ryan, and I told her to open it with Dad. When they pulled the card out of the envelope, there was a picture from one of our ultrasounds with the caption, “Happy Mother’s Day!” On the inside, it read, “I can’t wait to meet you in November! Love, Baby Randolph”

Needless to say, the reactions from my family were hilarious. My dad was so happy and proud, my sister Abby kept saying that she “knew it,” Allen delivered a high-five to Ryan and Caroline kept asking, “Is this some kind of joke?!”

We felt so much love with the revelation of our little secret, and it made me so excited for how much love will pour into this child’s life from our families.

But for now, the big reveal has to be continued…Ryan’s family is finding out the following weekend!

Leave a Reply

